Accha, Accha!

26 Jul

I figured that today’s list of favorite things about India will concern culture and language!

1. Words ‘Accha’ and ‘Thik Hai’ (pronounced as TK)

‘Accha’ can mean ‘yes’, ‘good’, ‘awesome’ and a bunch of other words that signify affirmation. ‘TK’ has a more of an ‘okay’, ‘all right’, ‘understood’ sort of meaning. Both are accompanied with a side to side head shake and often a softened voice. It’s adorable! A rickshaw driver recently told me that my Hindi was very Accha. Little did he know that rickshaw phrases are the only ones I know in Hindi. Perhaps because I say them with confidence and roll my Rs, the drivers assume that I speak their language.  I think (or I hope) my fake confidence stops them from inflating the prices. But, unfortunately, the truth about my language skills comes out when they try to strike up a conversation with me. In response, I shrug my shoulders and say “sorry, no Hindi”, to which they shake their head again and say ‘accha, accha’.

2. Head Shake
It’s honestly the cutest thing ever! When they say ‘Accha’ or ‘TK’, they shake their head side to side to indicate approval. When I just got to India, I was in utter confusion! I couldn’t understand if people were saying yes or no! But now, not only am I incredibly fond of the gesture, but I have also started imitating it without even realizing what I was doing. I wonder if all that shaking strengthened my neck muscles as I get asked all the time whether I like India.

3. The word Bhaiya (Brother)
It is used towards any men (usually older than oneself) and I feel that it substitutes for “excuse me”. I start most of my inquiry sentences with the word ‘Bhaiya’ (don’t forget that most jobs here are done by men, so there are very few ‘sistahs’ out there). To a food vendor I say “Baiya, how much for bananas?” To a rickshaw driver I say “Baiya, will you go to South Extension?” There is definitely something endearing about calling every stranger your brother.

4. Young boys touching women’s feet

I think it’s one of the most adorable sights! All adolescent boys and young men do it in their inquiry for a blessing. They go up to an older woman every time they greet her or say goodbye and quickly touch one of her feet. I wish I was allowed to ask for blessings in the same fashion, but unfortunately, girls are not supposed to do that because feet are considered dirty (not according to those who have a foot fetish, but whatever….when in Rome, do as the Romans do). Girls can only touch feet of their in-laws, which I have not acquired as of yet. So no free blessing for me! Boo!

One Response to “Accha, Accha!”

  1. Richa Dabra July 26, 2010 at 6:07 am #

    It’s incredible how small things are part of our lives and they always go unnoticed. I have noticed your head shake so many times and I always thought it’s part of Russian culture, haha.

    There is another gesture ‘Oye’, which can form part of your list. Oye generally means ‘excuse me’, it may also mean ‘don’t mess with me’. It has major implications as song fillers when a guy sings ‘oye oye, oye o o aa’.

Leave a comment